top of page
Search
  • mamorr6

Blog post 4: "middle" acrostic poem

Updated: Feb 13, 2021

M: “movement to reorganize secondary education that began in 1909 might, then, be judged as highly successful, for it actually changed the face of American education twice in a century.”


I: “Is a philosophy of education with a special spirit and deep theoretical roots”


D: devoting my time energy to make students feel valued and cared for


D: “Do not reach targeted academic goals, it has been labeled "the weak link in American education," primarily by those who believe the middle school's primary responsibility is to prepare students for advanced high school courses” Exactly 100 years ago these are things people believed about middle level education and looking back to then and now it is incredible how far middle school education has become and I am proud to be apart of that upbringing and add more positive influence to it.


L: “Lack of understanding among the general public about the period of early adolescence and an appreciation of its special importance.” Middle school was very doubted back then and many people looked at it as pointless.


E: Each and every one of my students will feel comfortable and worthy in my classroom. No student will be left behind or treated differently


As crazy as this sounds, I never thought about the background and history about the come up of middle school education. This week I gained insight on this topic and learned that the beginning of middle level education went underway exactly 100 years ago which followed with a hard, doubtful, and unsuccessful upbringing. Learning this information makes me feel even stronger about striving to be the best middle school teacher I can be because of the way people have viewed junior high. I am excited to watch middle schools grow and become even better than they are now, and I can’t wait to be a part of that upbringing.

17 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog post 14: PLN

4. Get Support When Needed: As a Future teacher I never thought about the logistics of being a good teacher meant, just that I will teach...

3 Comments


djangel88
Feb 14, 2021

I really liked how you pointed out the public’s general lack of knowledge when it comes to teaching in any level really. It’s honestly so true I always feel that I’m judged for going into middle level Ed.

Like

Miquela Bowers
Miquela Bowers
Feb 12, 2021

I like how to said "devoting my time energy to make students feel valued and cared for". I think sometimes people do not realize how much effort it takes to make sure that those around you know that you value them and care for them.

Like

Sarah Yonamine
Sarah Yonamine
Feb 09, 2021

I also have never considered the history of middle schools! I always just assumed that middle schools began when other schools began as well. But it's really fun to look back at our roots and how teachers have developed. I love the quote you have for the first D. I think this is a characteristic that is over looked by many teachers. But it is equally important with all other characteristics and standards. How can you devote your time to students outside of the classroom? What does this look like? I'm excited to read about more of your thoughts!

Like
bottom of page